Smells Like Green Spirit

I was watching Julia & Julia on the Sky movie channel when I realised I haven’t blogged in long time. Is it because I don’t have much to write about? No. It is because I don’t have the motivation to write. I have plenty to write about though. I decided to remodel one of the guest rooms into a study, so that I have a tranquil place to contemplate and write.

There was a single bed in the room made of real pine. We ended up giving it to a  16-year old boy with a large brain tumor who didn’t have a bed of his own. Mostly coats and winter clothes that needed a place to stay filled that room. I emptied the room and threw out all of the rubbish.

I then, went to B&Q and bought some paint. I looked up in Wallpaper magazine for some tips. I also googled “tranquil” colors. Turns out, GREEN is the best color for tranquility. GREEN is a restful color with calming attributes just like blue. GREEN is also represents health and good luck. GREEN denotes balance, stability, and harmony.

The color I chose is called “Willow Green 2”. My husband likes to call it atomic green and had a face of utter disgust when he walked in after I just finished painting the first coat. Three days, two arguments, and one new £35 can of a paler GREEN paint later, it finally grew on my husband. Once the paint dried, it wasn’t so bad after all. We bought the other can from Mead and Son on Brooke Parade in Chigwell. Turns out they had a Dulux paint mixing system and cheaper  paint than B&Q.

Now, I am in the process of furnishing it. I was thinking of filling the room with a desk, filing cabinet, some shelves and a wardrobe all made of light pinewood. My husband’s grandparents had a wardrobe to match in storage. They sold their villa in Spain and all the furniture came with them to England and bits and pieces are spread amongst three sheds in their back garden. Naturally, I dragged my hub to their house one sunny day this week and retrieved all the pieces to the wardrobe. Now I am going to oil and polish the wardrobe and then my hubster will assemble it and put it in our new, GREEN study. One step at a time.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://camillelo.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/smells-like-green-spirit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

